Notifications
Article
Jump into your virtual workspace

Published 8 months ago
182
0
Learn how to collaborate more effectively using your virtual workspace
In this article we’ll be doing a quick rundown of all of the core features of our virtual workspace so you are familiar on how you can most effectively use the platform to collaborate with your customers. In this article we’ll review all of the core features of your virtual workspace which will be used whenever you match with a customer.

Starting a session

Your virtual workspace

Once you’ve both clicked Start Session you will both enter a shared virtual workspace. Here you’ll be able to chat via text or audio, share your screens, collaborate on a shared code editor, add any attachments, and even screen share your screen to review projects.

Pause and resume feature

At any point during the session you can pause your session with your customer. This will stop the timer so that they will not be charged while your session is paused.

Visual code editor

In your virtual workspace, there will be a shared code editor. You can ask your customer to post snippets of code from your project within this space so you can both review and collaborate together. You can create multiple tabs within the editor as needed if you are working with multiple code snippets.

Video and voice chat

When starting your first session you will be prompted to turn on your webcam and microphone. This is how you will communicate with your customer during the course of your session. At the bottom of your workspace you can simply press the camera icon to toggle your video and the microphone button to toggle your microphone.

Text chat

You can also chat with your customer as needed using basic text chat on the right side of your virtual workspace. Click the Pencil Icon to send messages to your customer. Feel free to use any combination of text and audio chat as needed.

Attaching images and files

When sending messages you and your customer have the option of sending attachments. Click the Upload Icon in your messenger to add attachments. Make to sure to use this feature to encourage your customer to send helpful screenshots of the problem they’re trying to resolve, such as bug reports, to help you assess their problem.

Screen sharing

Both the expert and customer can use screen sharing to share their screen. It may be helpful you to ask your customer to share their screen to help you see their project open in the Unity Editor. To share your screen click the Screen Icon at the bottom right of your virtual workspace.

Screen sharing set up and use

We recommend you use Google Chrome browser when using the service. You’ll need to add a the following extension to your browser to share your screen. Please follow the steps to add the extension while in a session.
  1. Click on the Screen Icon at the bottom right of your virtual workspace.
  2. An Add Screen Share Extension popup will appear
  3. Click Open Webstore button and follow the webstore page instruction to add the extension.
  4. After successfully adding the extension, return to this tab and click Extension Added button.
  5. Click the Screen Icon again to start sharing.

Using screen sharing

Your time spent in the session is displayed at the top panel of your virtual workspace. As a reminder all customers are provided a 5 minute grace period for all sessions on the platform. After this first five minutes customers have a choice to end the session or convert it to a paid session.
The text "Your 5 minute grace period is over" will appear on screen once the grace period has ended. At this point the customer can decide to end the session, which means they will not be charged, or they can continue the session which will become a paid session.
Tags:
Nathaniel Ventura
Product Marketing Manager - Marketer
49
Comments